Posted by: Green Knight | August 14, 2010

Trog Dog, Bats in Peril

This will be a bit complex, so a bit of background first.  I am very involved in the animal- rescue community.  I’m a lifelong cave enthusiast.  I’ve been teaching environmental

cleanup & safety courses for 20 years.  I moderate discussion groups on hazmat response

and animal rescue on a website for firefighters.  I am also, for several reasons, an

admirer of the only flying mammal, the bat.  All of these factors come into play below.

1) Friend e-mails me about dog trapped in cave.  2) This particular fire dept. wouldn’t

help, since it wasn’t a human.  3) I alerted a couple of my hazmat students who are also cavers.  They alerted others.  Dog rescued!  4) Hot caving issue of the day is cave quarantines/closures due to massive, mysterious bat die-offs, possibly associated with

a pathogenic fungus, and I teach mold remediation.  Shows how everything is interconnected.

Responses

  1. please forgive the annoying revisions & gaps. i hate
    format problems.


Leave a Reply

Categories

