Posted by: Green Knight | January 18, 2011

National Radon Action Month, January, 2011

Takes me back almost a year to when I did DeAnna’s radio show on radon.  Don’t forget that you can live in a low-radon area and still have a problem if your foundations are made from parent material that emits it.  Test kits are available at the local hardware store, along with your smoke detectors and carbon monoxide alarms.  If you turn out to have a problem, seal cracks and ventilate; it’s not that difficult to handle.  Radon is not regulated; it shows up in Title III of TSCA, the Toxic Substances Control Act of 1976, as a subject for study.  EPA funds state health departments to sample ten residential settings per county to generate a map showing naturally-occurring levels.

In case you noticed the error in the post on chloropicrin, I fixed it already.  I kept meaning to type World War I, but it came out II despite my planned effort to avoid that mistake.  The attached photo was sent to me by a friend, and is called the “Redneck Fire Alarm.”  I’m lucky to know a few geniuses, I just wish I could afford a round for the house.

And extra points to anyone who remembers Strawberry Letter 23.  It’s a classic song by Shuggie Otis that I like a lot.

Leave a Reply

Categories

