Posted by: Green Knight | February 18, 2011

Feeding Frenzy

My assorted vegan friends have been beating up on me lately for not being a member of their group. I HATE factory farms, and I ABHOR the fur industry, but I haven’t quite gotten to the vegetarian point yet. I’ll probably get there eventually; as it is, I eat pretty low on the food chain. In the meantime, I refer them to an essay by Alan Watts called “Murder in the Kitchen.”  Alan brought Zen to the western hemisphere from the late ‘50s through the early ‘70s, and I wish I’d met the man when he was living on a houseboat in Sausalito.  My days of being a Greenpeace activist were 5 years in the future, alas.  KPFA radio in Berkeley used to play his lectures in lieu of religious programming on Sunday mornings.  He’s always a delight to read or hear.  Here’s the essay of which I speak:

http://books.google.com/books?id=Tfx-630IhzUC&pg=PA23&lpg=PA23&dq=alan+watts+murder+in+the+kitchen&source=bl&ots=k1GLTzveSv&sig=tuUq0GjG0-niQ2FqAN0g91R3inc&hl=en&ei=V77iTNSOCpKonQfg46z4Dw&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=3&ved=0CCEQ6AEwAg#v=onepage&q&f=false

Unfortunately, the link cuts it off before the text is complete.  My solution?  Hie thee hence to a used bookstore.  Everything in there is as timely as today’s news.  Another of his books, a similar collection of essays which I also recommend highly, is called “Cloud-Hidden, Whereabouts Unknown,” which about summarizes my own state, and that’s how I like things.

 

Responses

  1. Interesting point of view. Pretty cynical. Thanks for posting

  2. Thanks for sticking around here, Dr. Jim! WHO’s cynical, me, Alan, or the vegans?


Leave a Reply

Categories

