Posted by: Green Knight | December 10, 2011

How Much Does Air Weigh?

No, this isn’t a trick question. Air is made up of gases, and they all weigh something. This is a little exercise I came up with in hazardous waste class years ago. All you need is a periodic table and a calculator. You know that helium is lighter than air, right? Fill up the balloon, and it floats upwards until you can’t see it anymore. You climate-change people should be able to come up with it. I await your solutions. I’ll have some weird observations to add on gases after we have a winner.

Oh, and here’s a fun little exercise to play around with regarding Dalton’s Law of partial pressures. When I first discovered it about 7 years ago and was playing around with the bulbs and pressures, the numbers weren’t coming up even close to correct, and I thought I was losing my touch. I e-mailed the creators at UC Davis, and it turned out that their program had been designed incorrectly, so they fixed it. Where’s my commission, lol?

http://chemwiki.ucdavis.edu/deki/vce/GasLaws/DaltonsLaw.html, just scroll to the bottom and have fun experimenting.

image courtesy of santharia.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

