Posted by: Green Knight | May 4, 2012

Oceans and Mountains

No anniversaries to remark on today, just random musings. I grew up on the west coast of the US, but I now live smack-dab in the middle of North America. I need to get back home one of these days. At any rate, I was pondering the imponderables last night, and realized for the umpteenth time that many people I know here have never seen the ocean! That’s normal for here, I guess, but really weird for ME. It’s easy to forget that there are a lot of humanoids that have never seen what covers 71% of our planet. So, at 2 a.m., I came up with a phrase which now must become the title of a book of poems, or some other writing endeavor.

For those who have never been to the beach, when you finally get there, remember that those grains of sand between your toes are the ghosts of mountains.

That’ll be the title of whatever book I write: “The Ghosts of Mountains.” You read it here first, so no thievery, please. You can quote me, if you use my name.

Responses

  1. I grew up on the east coast, then spent 22 years in St. Louis. I get it . . . . Great name…

  2. i guess that calls for a haiku about sand:

    built from rock and stone
    eroded by wind and water (feng shui)
    comfy padding at the beach.

    (hint: i don’t always strictly stick to the number of syllables, sometimes only to the number of words. if it needs saying, i say it however it strikes me, though i usually try to keep to the formula.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

