Posted by: Green Knight | May 5, 2012

Climate Impacts Day

350.org is doing climate awareness stuff all over the globe today. You can see some of the events at http://www.climatedots.org/. If there were any events here in St. Louis, I didn’t hear about them. My carbon footprint is usually about zero, but yesterday I took a bus, which I only do a couple of times a year, and later a taxi, something I haven’t done in ages, but it was that kind of day. If I had a pedometer to calculate how many miles I walk, it would’ve exploded by now.

I’ve said before that climate and weather aren’t the same thing, and that freak fluctuations aren’t indicative of longterm trends. However, we need to keep a closer watch on Gaia’s daily temperature, and other environmental factors that are changing, like species in trouble (amphibians, bats, bees), or other ones expanding out of their usual ranges (fire ants, and there are even armadillos in St. Louis now…I like the weird little critters, but that’s just odd).

Spring officially begins on March 21st (the vernal equinox), but this year, in early March, we had a few days where the temps were over 90°F, which is 32°C to the civilized world. Summer doesn’t technically start until late June, but we’re having more 90-plus days here this week. Thunderstorms, humidity, and high temps are de rigueur for this part of the US, but not usually until a bit later in the season. I had to turn on my window air-conditioner the other day, but I use the ceiling fan to help it do its job. For an apartment building constructed in 1929, this place is pretty energy-efficient. I’m still working on the owner to put solar panels on the roof.

(Apologies to my friends in the southern hemisphere about the seasons and months; we are less arrogant than we are unthinking.)

Stay cool, fellow babies!

Responses

  1. Armadillos in SL?! Range expansion, or escapees? What’s the data on this weirdness? Crazy raptor range expansion in this region….

  2. Reblogged this on urbanperegrines.

  3. Not escapees. They’ve been migrating north for years.


Leave a Reply

Categories

