Posted by: Green Knight | October 24, 2012

Things to Remember

I didn’t hear about it until today, but Russell Means of the American Indian Movement died on Monday, October 22 (my birthday). I met him in 1979 at an event at People’s Park in Berkeley, California. He was very personable and we had much to chat about. He not only worked for indigenous peoples of the Americas, but also for environmental protection.

Today (October 24th) is also United Nations Day. The charter was signed in 1945 at the Herbst Theater in San Francisco, and I used to see the bronze commemorative plaque all the time when I worked there and at the Opera House next door in the mid-’80s.

It’s also National Food Day. I think I’ll go eat something.

Responses

  1. A very belated, but happy birthday to you, B.C!!

  2. Thanks, Steve, I know yours is something like a week later. Have a good one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

