Posted by: Green Knight | December 28, 2012

Save the Turtles

Back when I worked for the state, I trained a lot of new hires. One even became my direct boss, go figure. He later became a snitch for the main boss, who hated me, but we always got along otherwise, and I just read an article that reminded me of his good qualities. We were out on a Superfund investigation south of Kansas City, and he was driving, and there was a big turtle on its back in the road. He drove past it, but stopped and backed up, and I got out, picked it up, and moved it over to the side of the road it was trying to get to. I used to do that all the time myself, when I still had wheels, but apparently some people run over them just for “fun.” It’s a “sport” to these assholes. If I could round people like that up and give them their own planet to despoil, I’d do it in a heartbeat. The rest of us could use the elbow room.

Turtles survived the dinosaur-killing asteroid at the end of the Cretaceous. They are harmless and make good pets; I had one as a kid. They have a sort of ancient reptilian wisdom about them. WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE???

in England, they even have culverts under roadways as “hedgehog crossings,” and a place called Mrs. Tiggywinkle’s that rescues injured ones. Good job!

Here’s the article, and another one I just saw.

http://hosted2.ap.org/MOCAP/f7ded15e4d4846268a17b79c1c4b7cb8/Article_2012-12-27-Running-Over-Turtles/id-418a7eb4fb82427db02c3052b4751ee0

http://carscoop.blogspot.com/2012/07/nasa-scientist-makes-roadkill.html

box turtle

Leave a Reply

Categories

