Posted by: Green Knight | June 6, 2012

RIP to Ray Bradbury

Ray died last night. I don’t know how many others of you out there got turned on to science by first getting into science fiction, but he certainly steered me in that direction. He also started me off on my lifelong fascination with the planet Mars. So here I was, thinking, well, Gene Roddenberry, creator of Star Trek, got his ashes strewn through interplanetary space by some ship or other, and Brother Ray deserves to have some of his buried on the Red Planet by the next probe.

(Of course, that’s assuming his family has him cremated, instead of buried whole in Waukegan or in LA.) But I’ve already been in contact with NASA’s PR people today, and they liked the idea, so who knows? I just wanted to be the first person to suggest it. If they don’t opt for cremation, maybe a lock of his hair, or an old pair of eyeglasses, could make the trip. Whatever works. I’d like it if they’d take one of my fingernail-parings too, so part of ME could be on my second-favorite planet forever. I hope to hear a sound of thunder sometime today. Listen for it.


Responses

  1. I know that Ray already has a plot reserved for him, next to his beloved Maggie. (Wikipedia names the graveyard, but I don’t know if it is correct.) From this, I assume that he made his intentions known to his family.

    He did, on more than one occasion, joke about being buried on Mars in a Campbell’s soup can.

    Let’s wait and see.

    – philnic

    • Well, a lock of hair and a pair of specs, then, in an old soup can. Part of him deserves to be up there.


Leave a comment

Categories